(804) 828-1347 | equity@vcu.edu

Our team

Equity and Access Services at VCU includes teams focused on Title IX, employment equity, the Americans with Disabilities Act and investigations of civil rights complaints.

Our goal is to provide the university community with the highest quality service. If you encounter any issues with Equity and Access Services, please contact the Executive Director directly at lrugless@vcu.edu or (804) 828-6404.

Administration

A profile picture of a woman with light brown hair who is smiling and wearing a black colored shirt and gray jacket against a gray background.

Laura Walsh Rugless
Executive Director and Title IX Coordinator
(804) 828-6404
lrugless@vcu.edu

A profile picture of a woman with light brown hair who is smiling and wearing a cream colored shirt and black jacket against a gray background.

Chelsea Gray
Paralegal
(804) 828-7435
cgray8@vcu.edu

A profile picture of a woman with light brown hair who is smiling and wearing a pink colored shirt and black jacket against a gray background.

Megan McDermott 
Administration Coordinator
(804) 828-6811
mmcdermott@vcu.edu 

A profile picture of a woman with brown hair who is smiling and wearing a blue colored shirt against a gray background.

Sara Roan
EAS Senior Specialist
(804) 827-9987
sroan@vcu.edu


Civil Rights Investigations

A profile picture of a woman with blonde hair who is smiling and wearing a blue colored shirt and black jacket against a gray background.

Emily Caputo
Civil Rights Investigations Manager
(804) 828-1216
ejcaputo@vcu.edu

A profile picture of a man with brown hair who is smiling and wearing a white shirt, red and gray striped tie, and black jacket against a gray background.

Matthew Meneely
Senior Civil Rights Investigator 
(804) 827-8319
mmeneely@vcu.edu

A profile picture of a woman with gray hair who is smiling and wearing a multi-colored shirt and gray jacket against a gray background.

Tammi Slovinsky
Deputy Title IX Coordinator for Students
(804) 827-1963
tslovinsky@vcu.edu

 

Picture of Laura Brownlee

Laura Brownlee
Senior Civil Rights Investigator 
(804) 828-8017
lrbrownlee@vcu.edu

 

A profile picture of a woman with light brown and blonde hair who is smiling and wearing a salmon colored shirt and black jacket against a gray background.

Loran Carter
Civil Rights Investigator
(804) 827-1313
carterl@vcu.edu


Accessibility and ADA Services

A profile picture of a woman with light brown hair who is smiling and wearing a pink and cream scarf and gray jacket against a gray background.

Crystal C. Coombes
University Accessibility Administrator
Serving as the ADA/Section 504 Coordinator
(804) 828-8532
cccoombes@vcu.edu